The Sphinx Quali option is the solution dedicated to the processing of textual data and semantic analysis. It integrates recent advances in knowledge engineering (ontology, semantic networks, etc.) and is at the forefront of innovative technologies.

Corpus import

Sphinx iQ2, Sphinx Quali, importation du corpus sur Sphinx

With the expansion of data of all kinds and the multiplication of opinions on the web and social networks, it becomes essential to process data from whatever source: open-ended questions, interviews, focus group, press articles, extracts from websites, comments from forums and social networks ... Sphinx Quali makes it possible to import all of these corpuses.

Examples of qualitative studies and methods

Satisfaction survey - Hotline

This customer satisfaction survey conducted among the customers of a well-known software publisher complements the service quality measurements with questions on the problems encountered and the justification of the evaluations made. Keywords and recurring expressions confirm the good level of the evaluations and point out the reasons for dissatisfaction expressed in the users' own language. They can be found with a simple click, and a real-time alert system brings up the most critical verbatims...

hotline.PNG

Online Reviews - Tourism Experience

touristique.PNG

This research examines the perception of tourism. 600 opinions posted on Trip Advisor are collected according to an experience plan built on 2 destinations (Morocco, Tunisia) and 2 modes of accommodation (Hotel club and Gîtes, B&B). An initial exploration reveals that the type of accommodation has more influence on the content than the destination. The opinions are then automatically coded on the basis of a thesaurus constructed for the purposes of this research. It thus highlights that the reception experience takes precedence over the other components of the stay.

Non-directive interviews - Leadership

In this thesis, in-depth interviews conducted with 14 leaders are exploratory manner analyzed by automatic classification. It highlights 4 major refined themes in consideration of the literature on the conditions for exercising leadership. The entire interview is then read and coded according to this grid. The frequency with which the elements of the code book are mentioned in the 297 rounds of speech makes it possible to specify the importance of the dimensions of leadership and their dependence on the experience and culture of leaders. Finally a triangulation confirms the robustness of the results.

culturelle.PNG

Big Data - Ecological Transition

ecolo.PNG

The contributions of corpus great debate 35 000 contributions, over 10 million words, provides an overview of French concerns. The words expressions and key ideas highlighted by the lexical and semantic analysis confirm what we already knew by specifying the hierarchies and the influence of local situations. But above all, data visualization and interactivity lead to original interpretations argued by verbatim that it would otherwise have been impossible to discover in the mass of this information. Finally, the very minority comments as a percentage are found here documented by hundreds of people, which allows for deeper analysis and logic.

Bibliographic database - The employer branding relationship

This example shows how a literature review can be communicated by presenting lexical and statistical syntheses of all the articles analyzed. The major themes thus identified are then refined by targeted research corresponding to the concepts more specifically studied (thesaurus): brand / consumer relationships and the emotions involved.
The results relate to the coherence of the lines of research identified in all of the 287 articles and to their evolution over the 4 periods considered.

This example shows how the analysis of a corpus of documents can lead to interpretations based on objective data that can be checked by the reader. Data visualization makes it possible very quickly to acquire experience of the corpus studied and to discuss the interpretations proposed by the author.

biblio.PNG

Online image wall - Coberen

mur d'images.PNG

This example relates to the first part of a large online survey on the consumption of beverages in Europe. It involved choosing 3 images evoking the fact of drinking. The proposed image wall was made up of 25 images varying drinks, situations, motivations, etc. Respondents were then asked to explain their choice. A multilingual corpus of over 15,000 comments is thus collected.
Examination of the key words and expressions in the language of each country provides an initial idea of the answers provided.

To produce a summary, and highlight regional or country differences, an excerpt calibrated on the full base and coded online by researchers from each participating country. It can thus be established that generation and gender have more influence than the country itself, while illustrating these conclusions with verbatim in the original language.

Complementary solutions to Sphinx iQ2

Automatic reading of connected paper questionnaires

L’option Sphinx Quali est la solution dédiée au traitement des données textuelles, à l’analyse sémantique, qui intègre les avancées récentes de l’ingénierie de la connaissance (ontologie, réseaux sémantiques…) et se situe à la pointe des technologies innovantes.

Une importation des corpus 

Sphinx iQ2, Sphinx Quali, importation du corpus sur Sphinx

Avec l’expansion des données de toutes natures et la multiplication des opinions émises sur le web et les réseaux sociaux, il devient essentiel de traiter les données quelle que soit leur provenance : questions ouvertes de questionnaires, entretiens, focus group, articles de presse, bases propres aux institutions, extraits de sites web, commentaires issus de forums… Sphinx Quali permet d’importer l’ensemble de ces corpus.

Exemples d’études et de méthodes qualitatives

Enquête de satisfaction – Hotline

Cette enquête de satisfaction menée auprès des clients d’un éditeur de logiciel bien connu complète les mesures de la qualité du service par des questions sur les problèmes rencontrés et la justification des évaluations faites. Mots clé et expressions récurrentes confirment le bon niveau des évaluations et pointent sur les motifs d’insatisfaction exprimés dans le langage même des utilisateurs. Un simple clic permet de les retrouver, de plus un système d’alerte en temps réel fait remonter les verbatims les plus critiques…

hotline.PNG

Avis en ligne – Expérience touristique

touristique.PNG

Cette recherche examine la perception des séjours touristiques. 600 avis postés sur Trip Advisor sont recueillis selon un plan d’expérience construit sur 2 destinations (Maroc, Tunisie) et 2 modes d’hébergements (Hôtel club et Gîtes, B&B). Une première exploration permet met en évidence que le mode d’hébergement a plus d’influence sur les contenus que la destination. Les avis sont ensuite automatiquement codés sur la base d’un thésaurus construit pour les besoins de cette recherche. On met ainsi en évidence que l’expérience de l’accueil prime sur les autres composantes du séjour.

Entretiens non directifs – Leadership

Dans cette thèse, les entretiens approfondis effectués auprès de 14 dirigeants sont analysés de manière exploratoire par une classification automatique. Elle met en évidences 4 grands thèmes affinés en considération de la littérature sur les conditions d’exercice du leadership. L’intégralité des entretiens est alors lue et codée selon cette grille. La fréquence avec laquelle les éléments du code book se trouvent évoqués dans les 297 tours de paroles permet de préciser l’importance des dimensions du leadership et leur dépendance par rapport à l’expérience et la culture des dirigeants. Enfin une triangulation permet de confirmer la robustesse des résultats.

culturelle.PNG

Données massives – Transition écologique

ecolo.PNG

Le corpus des contributions au grand débat, 35 000 contributions, plus de 10 millions de mots, dresse un panorama des préoccupations des français. Les mots expressions et idées clés mis en évidence par l’analyse lexicale et sémantiques confirment ce qu’on savait déjà en précisant les hiérarchies et l’influence des situations locales. Mais surtout la data visualisation et l’interactivité conduisent à des interprétations originales argumentée par du verbatim qu’il aurait autrement été impossible de découvrir dans la masse de ces informations. Enfin les commentaires très minoritaires en pourcentage se trouvent ici documentés par des centaines de personnes ce qui autorise d’en approfondir l’analyse et les logiques.

Base bibliographique – La relation marque-consommateur

Cet exemple montre comment une revue de littérature peut être communiquée en présentant des synthèses lexicales et statistiques de l’ensemble des articles analysés. Les grands thèmes ainsi dégagés sont ensuite affinés par une recherche ciblée correspondants aux concepts plus spécifiquement étudiés (thésaurus) : les relations marques/consommateurs et les émotions mises en jeu.
Les résultats portent sur la cohérence des axes de recherches identifiés dans l’ensemble des 287 articles et sur leur évolution au cours des 4 périodes considérées.

Cet exemple montre comment l’analyse d’un corpus de documents peut conduire à des interprétations fondées sur des données objectives et contrôlables par le lecteur. La data visualisation permet en effet d’acquérir très rapidement une expérience du corpus étudié et de discuter les interprétations proposées par l’auteur.

biblio.PNG

Mur d’images en ligne – Coberen

mur d'images.PNG

Cet exemple porte sur la première partie d’une grande enquête en ligne portant sur la consommation de boissons en Europe. Il s’agissait de faire choisir 3 images évoquant le fait de boire. Le mur d’image proposé était composé de 25 images variant les boissons, les situations, les motivations… Les répondants étaient alors invités à expliquer leur choix. Ainsi est recueilli un corpus multilingue de plus de 15000 commentaires.
L’examen des mots et expression clé dans la langue de chaque pays permet de se faire une première idée des réponses fournies.

Pour produire une synthèse, et mettre en évidence les différences régionales ou par pays, un extrait calibré le la base intégrale et codé en ligne par les chercheurs de chaque pays participant. On peut ainsi établir que la génération et le genre ont plus d’influence que le pays lui-même, tout en illustrant ces conclusions par du verbatim dans la langue d’origine.

Autres solutions complémentaires à Sphinx iQ2

Lecture automatique de questionnaires papiers connectés